Episode 62: The 40 Day Challenge

I’m the first to admit that discipline towards my golas has never been one of my best attributes. The last few days have served as a reminder of just how much I have achieved but so much that still needs to be done. Lent is about to start and with it I try and do things that have been left on the back burner for too long. In essence, it becomes a second wind for new year’s resolutions and an honest attempt to become a better person in the process. The past few years have put some interesting changes, minimal facebook stalking, giving up a lot of old grudges, and just trying to live up to the lawful good allignment and paladin code I set up for myself so long ago.

This year I’m trying something new, striving to achieve a level of dilligence not seen since my nocturnal writing period. The basic thing concerning this blog is that I need to start writing consistently again. My typing speed is atrocious for my current academic level (it’s bad and I feel bad) so for all of lent I will update here something. The main topic of analyzing different aspects of serial literature will still be the central theme but I am fairly certain I will go into slice of life/stalker friendly posts so stay tuned just in case I accidentally reveal some quasi classified information.

Besides dissertation prep and writing, I’ve got a few more resolution/lent promises that I want to work on. I’ve already started training (and by training I mean at least going to the gym) in order to get enough in shape so that I can run the Boston marathon next year. This is not a hyperbole or a pipe dream but an actual thing I will strive towards. A few months ago I could run a 5k in under 30 minutes without too much trouble before I hurt my knee so I need to climb my way back up and onwards. I’ve already got a few people that have metaphorically signed on to run with me, if you want to join in just let me know, start doing your own thing and I guess I’ll see you in Red Sox territory next year trying not to collapse for 26.2 miles.

One other thing that I’ve been working on for a while is the whole “forever alone” mentality I’ve had going on for a while. It’s hard for me to admit but this pity party for one has gone on long enough. I’ve never been too dextrous when it comes to dealing with the fairer sex but I can’t blame whatever lack of game I have on “being a nice guy that pretty girls don’t recognize as Mr. Right”. It’s one thing to be sad about getting dinners for one, it’s another to be a dick about it the whole time and emotionally coercing people into joining your circle of sadness. With this in mind, I declare to whomever reads this blog as a matter of public record that from here on out I choose to be single. If there’s a girl I like I am giving myself one month to plan and ask her out or abandon expectation. I just hope that I can make an effective change that will last beyond the aforementioned 40 day period.

This challenge is a personal one with no real reward besides a sense of accomplishment and growth. My solitude is not a handicap or hindrance so I will stop treating it as such. In the immortal words of The Protomen, Hope Rides Alone http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAysZ92B6aI and I’ve got a long trek to cover. Self empowerment or bust.

Leave a Reply

